WHERE HAS REAL CUSTOMER SERVICE GONE?

Sitting at my computer, wondering what a store’s profit margin reveals when employees are scarce, while self-check out registers continue to increase. Something about this whole trend in sales seems off-balance. Let me see if I got this right.

  1.  I go to the store to purchase a particular item. There is no one around to explain the details about the product I’d like to buy.  And if I find someone to help me, the person doesn’t know anything about the product I’m talking about and the person attempts to find someone else to help me.
  2. When I decide to buy the item, I go to the checkout area and find that I have to check myself out at the ‘automated register’. The store provided a way for the customer to take the place of the check-out clerk! The customer must log into the register, scan each item, bag the item, and insert cash or credit card into the register, and the register spits out a receipt.

If I purchase something from an electronics store, I am prompted to purchase an additional service warranty for the device just in case something goes wrong because the factory warranty expires after one year. This is like paying two or three times more for the product.

Back in the day, a company would be run out of business quickly if a piece of merchandise was found to be faulty because it did not last for a number of years without any problems. Companies were built on quality and honesty, and the customer could depend on and believe what they were told about the product.  Old fashioned, friendly customer service is quickly becoming do-it-yourself or self-service while the prices continue to rise. Is this the new confidence game?

Seeing more clearly,
wbfreelance
http://www.willettebelieves.blog

 

 

 

 

 

Author: wbfreelance

Retired Senior Citizen, African American, Christian, Bachelor's Degree in Theology, writer of non-fiction, can knit and crochet, work picture puzzles for display, and basic earring-making.

Leave a comment